welcome at Saudi Nurses Association

Kim Mo Im Policy Innovation and Impact Award 2023

The last date for applying to the competition is 10/12/202 AD
Among the privileges of SNA membership is to participate in international awards

About Kim Mo Im

Dr. Kim Mo Im is a pioneer and an evolutional leader in various areas for social and health development. She was the first nurse in Korea appointed to Minister of Health. She was a member of the World Health Organization Expert Panel of Nursing for 20 years and ICN President from 1989 to 1993. Her contribution is aptly described by many international awards including the WHO Health Prize and Nightingale Medal. Dr. Kim donated all her personal assets to Yonsei University and, in her honor, the University established a nursing research institute bearing her name. In 2015, Dr. Kim received the Yu Ilhan Prize, which is given biannually to a person who has made significant contributions to national and social advancement while leading a most exemplary life for all to emulate. Dr. Kim decided to donate the entire prize money in the amount of $100,000 combined with additional funds from the Kim Mo Im Nursing Advancement Fund and donations from her personal assets. Her tremendous generosity has led to the establishment of this new ICN award in collaboration with the Kim Mo Im Institute for the Studies of Nursing at Yonsei University

Previous recipients of the Kim Mo Im Policy Innovation and Impact award:

  • 2017: Dr Miaofen Yen, Taiwan

    The first award was granted at the ICN Congress 2017 in Barcelona to Dr Miaofen Yen for her work to establish an International Advanced Programme in Nursing at the National Cheung Kung University in Taiwan.

  • 2019: Mr Elias Al Aaraj, Lebanon

    Mr Elias Al Aaraj was granted the 2019 award in Singapore for introducing harm reduction services in Lebanon and other Middle East and North African countries.

  • 2021: Pr. Abel Avelino de Paiva e Silva, Portugal

    The 2021 Kim Mo Im Award has been granted to Professor Abel Avelino de Paiva e Silva from Ordem dos Enfermeiros, Portugal for advancing an innovative policy project focused on nursing ontology.

About the Kim Mo Im Policy Innovation and Impact Award

- The award is granted once every two years to a nurse who has demonstrated policy innovation and impact.

- The award is presented at the ICN Congress

- The award focuses on a key global issue of the time related to ICN’s established strategy.

- The award recipient will be invited to be one of the keynote speakers at the Kim Mo Im Policy Innovation and Impact Lecture at the ICN CNR or Congress.

- The awardee will receive a US$10,000 grant (in two installments) for advancing the innovative policy project. The purpose of this award is to provide support to continue to advance and/or enhance the innovation.

Eligibility Criteria

  • A nominee must be a nurse according to the ICN definition and qualified and authorised in their country to practise as a nurse.

  • A nominee must be a member in good standing of a national nurses’ association (NNA) in membership with the International Council of Nurses (ICN).

  • A nominee must demonstrate an outstanding achievement and impact on public policy related to nursing, health and/or innovation

  • The specific policy influence, impact and innovation must focus on a key regional, national or global system health policy issue and aligned with the current strategy of ICN.

  • A group of two or three nurses who have collaborated on the same project may be nominated together as a group nominee (the project leader identified in the nomination form will represent the group at the ICN Congress).

  • Members of the Boards of Directors of ICN, Florence Nightingale Foundation (FNIF) and International Council of Nurses Foundation (ICNF) and any employees of these organisations may not make or support nominations, nor be nominated themselves.

  • Applications will be evaluated against the four following criteria: • Demonstrated achievement and impact of the policy related to nursing, health, and innovation to advance public policy • The regional or national, or global system policy impact or application • Significance and level of the policy for nursing and health • Current and potential future impact of policy for nursing and health

Nomination and Selection Procedure

  • Nominations must be submitted on the official nomination form, available from ICN or an ICN member association, in one of the ICN working languages (English, French or Spanish) by 15 December 2022.

  • Nominations can be self-nominative or made by an individual or group of individuals (including NNA). Any one individual or group of individuals may submit only one nomination.

  • Nominations may be submitted by individuals or groups of individuals with the exception of current members of the Boards of Directors and staff of ICN, FNIF and ICNF.

  • Nominations must be sent to ICN together with a certificate that the nominee is a member of an ICN member association.

  • All nomination forms must bear the signature of the nominee(s), confirming their consent to be nominated.

  • The nature of the specific innovation and its significance must be fully documented.

  • Together with the official nomination form, a letter from a person of authority related to the innovation is required.

  • A winner may not be nominated again. However, nominees unsuccessful in a previous competition may be re-nominated.

  • The nominee selected, and her/his national nurses’ association will be notified of the result immediately after the selection is made. All nominees will be notified shortly thereafter. A press release will be then issued to announce the name of the recipient

related news
all rights reserved saudi nurses association © 2021
designed and developed by massarcloud